Garden update: July

I’m just sitting down with a cuppa after a morning’s hard graft in the garden. My back aches, my arms are pricked by thorns and there’s soil under my fingernails. And what’s all this effort for if I can’t share it on my blog?

My tomato plants have finally decided to grow some fruit. I know I started them late and they’ve had a too tough time in the heat (too much sunshine, huh? You’re supposed to be exotic) but at last they have grown a few flowers last month and now this month the tiniest, teeniest little green fruits have started to form. Here’s hoping for a warm autumn to give them a chance to grow and ripen.

 

Apples – the apple tree is blooming. It looks like it’s probably an ancient tree (we rent a Victorian mill worker’s old cottage) and it always does well (too well; I can’t eat that many apples.) I couldn’t tell you what variety but they are slightly on the sour side.

 

The pond: a toad moved in last month and he’s sticking around. The plants we bought have grown too large for this small sink pond so one of them might end up getting chucked. So far the toad has escaped the clutches of my murderous cat.

 

The herb garden:
 

Tell me how your garden’s growing! 

 

Published by

clarission

Hello! I'm Clarissa, a green lifestyle blogger from Norwich, UK. I write about environmental concerns, animal rights issues, and also my hobbies of birding, gardening, and nature rambling, as well as sharing vegetarian recipes and reviews on cruelty-free products. Feel free to comment and connect with me on social media; you can find me on: Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/this_veggie_life/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/ThisVeggieLife

13 thoughts on “Garden update: July”

  1. We have some tomatoes thay self seeded themselves very late ā€“ those have only just flowered so you are not the only one! I have bigger plants but the tomatoes on those seem to have some form of rot. All trial and error but nice to see things growing.

  2. Your garden looks great Clarisson, certainly well worth the work! The apples look wonderful, I like those that are more sour than sweet, and the tomatoes and herbs look like they are doing really well :-)

  3. Love those baby tomatoes! Had a few tomato plants last year but lost most of the fruits to blossom-end rot and bacterial speck disease. Sighs. None of the seeds sowed this year has germinated. Sighs again. But the chili/pepper plants are doing well :)

Leave a comment