Recipe post: herby cheese scones

This is one of my simplest and most satisfying recipes: homemade herby cheese scones.

I’m a sucker for a cheese scone anyway, but adding rosemary makes such a difference.

 I first cut the dough using a teeny tiny cutter but for my second attempt I just shaped the dough myself into large scone-shaped balls and doubled the quantities. And sprinkled lots of cheese on the top. And herbs. Did I mention herbs? You really must include herbs.

  • 175g self raising flour
  • 1 medium egg
  • 3 tablespoon milk (1 for dusting)
  • 70g grated cheese (or as much as your heart desires)
  • 2 teaspoons rosemary
  • black pepper (as much as you want to season).

Mix the dry stuff, add the egg and milk, mix it into a crumbly dough, roll it out, cut it into shapes, sprinkle a mini mountain of cheese and rosemary on top and bake for 20-25 mins.

Voila. Your house will smell delicious.  

 

9 comments

Leave a Reply

